Uganda Christian University is led by the Vice Chancellor assisted by theDeputy Vice Chancellors and the College Principals. The University is also governed by the University Council and Senate.

UCU Chancellor

The Archbishop of the Church of Uganda is the Chancellor of Uganda Christian University.

The Vice Chancellor

Assoc. Prof. Aaron Mushengyezi is the third and current Vice Chancellor of Uganda Christian University. He holds a Diploma in Education, Institute of Teacher Education Kyambogo (now Kyambogo University), BA (with First Class Honours), Makerere University, MA Makerere University and PhD, University of Connecticut, USA. Read More

The overall trustees of the University—the University Council—create policy, set mission and purpose, and are tasked with building and maintaining a successful organization. They ensure good management and adequate resources and they appoint and support the Office of the Vice Chancellor.

The Deans lead UCU’s schools and colleges. The Senior Leadership Team manages the operations of the institution through various administrative units.

The University Senate, chaired by the Vice Chancellor, is the chief deliberative body of the University; its membership is made up of representatives of the faculty, students, administrators, and deans.



Senior Leadership Team

Rev. Assoc. Prof John M. Kitayimbwa
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic Affairs)
Mr. David Mugawe
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Finance and Administration)
Mrs. Christa Kyomya Oluka
Director, Academic Affairs
Christa Oluka

Faculty Deans and Heads

Prof. Monica B. Chibita
Dean School of Journalism, Media & Communication
Prof. Elizabeth Balyejusa Kizito
Director-Directorate of Research Partnerships & Innovation
Prof. Elizabeth Bacwayo
Director-Directorate of Postgraduate Studies
Rev. Can. Prof. Christopher Byaruhanga (Dr)
Dean Bishop Tucker School of Divinity & Theology
Dr. Emilly Comfort Maractho
Director Africa Policy Centre
Dr. Rosemary Bulyaba
Dean Faculty of Agricultural Sciences
Assoc. Prof. Peter Ubomba-Jaswa
School of Social Sciences
Dr. Isaac Katono
Senior Lecturer School of Business
Dr. James Magara
Dean School of Dentistry
Rev. Canon. Assoc. Prof. Peter Nyende
Associate Professor of Biblical Studies- BTSDT
Dr. Maurice Olobo
Senior Lecturer School of Business
Rodgers Tayebwa
Head of Department Engineering & Environment
Vincent Kisenyi PhD.(Cand.)(UMU)
Dean School of Business
Rev. Dr. Andrew David Omona
Dean School of Social Sciences
Dr. Mary Teophira Kagoire Ocheng
Head of Department Education
Mrs. Christa Oluka
Director, Academic Affairs