Academic Structure of UCU

At Uganda Christian University (UCU), we pride ourselves on our diverse academic offerings housed within eight Schools and three Faculties. These academic communities serve as the cornerstone of our institution, providing a comprehensive framework for our educational programmes.

Our Faculties and Schools include:

  1. School of Business and Administration
  2. School of Education
  3. School of Law
  4. School of Medicine
  5. School of Dentistry
  6. School of Social Sciences
  7. Bishop Tucker School of Divinity and Theology
  8. School of Journalism, Media & Communication
  9. Faculty of Engineering, Design, and Technology
  10. Faculty of Agricultural Sciences
  11. Faculty of Public Health Nursing and Midwifery

These entities, which fall under the Division of the Deputy Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs represent distinct disciplinary traditions, each contributing to the rich tapestry of knowledge and expertise at UCU.

Within these Faculties and Schools, you’ll find specialized units known as departments. These departments house smaller, more focused groups of scholars dedicated to specific academic disciplines. 

Each Faculty, School, and department offers a range of educational programmes leading to various credentials, including diplomas, bachelor’s degrees, and master’s degrees. These programs are designed to equip students with the knowledge, skills, and wisdom necessary to excel in their chosen fields. Whether pursuing a Diploma, Bachelor’s, Master’s or PhD, our students are empowered to achieve their academic and professional goals.

Join us at Uganda Christian University, where excellence in education meets a commitment to holistic development and lifelong learning. Explore our academic offerings and embark on a journey of discovery, growth, and transformation.

UCU is a leader in online distance learning (ODL). We have been consistently teaching throughout this COVID time, whether fully online or in a blended capacity, so our students’ learning has been able to continue uninterrupted. We have been able to conduct our take-home and online exams uninterrupted. All this is possible only through our commitment to the technology, using tools such as Moodle, Zoom, and BigBlueButton, but also through our commitment to our students. We are committed to  using the available technology to build community, to provide a quality education and equip our students for productive and holistic lives of Christian faith and service.