Faculty of Social Sciences

Name: Rev. David Omona (Dr.)


Email: domona@ucu.ac.ug

Faculty: Faculty of Social Sciences


Welcome remarks from the dean

Welcome to the Faculty of Social Sciences. Beginning in 1997 as a department within the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, the Faculty of Social Sciences grew as a vibrant faculty where academic research informs and ignites our teaching. The over 30 highly qualified members of the faculty offer academic instruction and theoretical training that enables students to explore the current challenges of the global society.

Currently with over 1000 students distributed in three departments and one other unit, the faculty runs 15 programmes, both undergraduate (8) and at postgraduate level (7)

The Department of Development Studies is headed by Dr. Waiswa Jeremy, Department of Social Work and Social administration; Mr. Kasule Solomon Kibirige and Department of Public Administration and Governance; Mrs. Nagadya Edith Sentongo. The Counseling Unit is coordinated by Dr. Okahaabwa Gooreka.

Besides, the faculty is in advanced stages of offering a Masters of Governance and International Relations Degree that will have three tracks: International Relations and Diplomacy, Conflict and Peace building, and Intelligence and Security; and a PhD in Social Sciences with specializations in Social Work, Governance and International Studies, Development Studies, Counseling Psychology, etc.

Come and Study with us!

For More Details Visit the Faculty Website